On my way home there was a motorcycle in the other lane on my right. Very nice looking with ear buds in and I thought, 'hope he's not distracted'. We came up side by side to the light which was starting to change. I buzzed through. He hit a hole in the road. Rear view mirror showed him tumbling sideways into the lane I'd just left, his bike stayed in his lane. I saw him stand and go to his bike. Did a turn around to help him pick up the pieces and another guy had parked and was helping him with the bike. He seemed okay but shaken.. duh.
Going back out later tonight through that intersection.. I realised if I'd stopped at the light instead of buzzing through, his body would have cartwheeled into my van. Now I'm shaky.
Insurance would have fixed the van but he could have been hurt so much worse.
Didn't help that I just missed seeing another accident passed that intersect right after.
Everybody, please be careful out there.
Going back out later tonight through that intersection.. I realised if I'd stopped at the light instead of buzzing through, his body would have cartwheeled into my van. Now I'm shaky.
Insurance would have fixed the van but he could have been hurt so much worse.
Didn't help that I just missed seeing another accident passed that intersect right after.
Everybody, please be careful out there.